top of page
  • Writer's pictureKeiko

'A Conversation With...Bryony'

In this conversation, Berkshire based singer-songwriter Bryony shares the inspiration behind her recent single More Than Friends and the challenges of recording new music during lockdown.

Hi Bryony, tell us a bit about yourself!

I’m a pop singer/songwriter based in Berkshire. My Dad always had musical instruments lying around the house when I was younger so I really owe learning guitar to him - not that he can play at all haha! I used to watch a lot of YouTube singers when I was younger and just tried to learn as much guitar as I could from them until I ended up writing my own songs. I still remember the first song I wrote - I think it’s safe to say I’ve improved a lot since then.


Your new single More Than Friends explores the uncertainties that come with falling in love with someone. What can you tell us about the inspiration and meaning behind the lyrics?

I wrote this one in lockdown and really wanted a song that reminded me of going out before lockdown started! It’s about finding someone who makes you really happy when you’re so used to being with someone who does the opposite. I suppose the story behind it is a bit cringey really!


Where did you record the new single?

I recorded the song in my makeshift studio set up in my bedroom over lockdown - that in itself was a massive challenge! I wouldn’t say I’m amazing with technology so recording vocals is always a bit of a bumpy process for me… I suppose I thought at one point it would just be demo vocals but we liked the first mix so much we ended up sticking with it. After vocals were recorded it was a super fast process - got to love a productive mixing session!

Do you have any artists/musicians who you consider having inspired your music?

With the new music I’ve been writing, Fletcher & Dagny have definitely been massive influences. Both my producer and I love Phil Collins too… he definitely influences the production side of the songs! Maybe I’ll add covering a Phil Collins song to my to-do list for lockdown.


How would you describe your music/sound?

I heard someone describe it as ‘stadium pop’ once and I loved that description. It is plain and simple pop, but with bigger drums. The lyrics are always a little savage too.

Are there any plans to release a music video for More Than Friends?

I have a few ideas! Annoyingly with everything on pause due to lockdown I’ve held off on any official plans for now, but maybe I’ll just go full DIY with a video? I’ve got so much extra time on my hands!


Has lockdown affected your creative process? If so, how?

If anything I think it’s really helped it. It meant all my evenings could be dedicated to music so I ended up getting loads of songs written and recorded. I was quite fortunate that lockdown didn’t affect my music process too much, and by the time the songs were ready to be mixed the restrictions had lifted enough for us to get that done. I also managed to get a couple of (reasonably successful?) photoshoots on my phone over lockdown for the new singles!


What do you most look forward to doing once lockdown is over?

Definitely gigs! I’m so excited to get started again, it’s been way too long! I’m also so excited for nights out though. I think I’m just excited to get dressed up to go somewhere.


What is the best advice you have ever received?

‘Whatever tempo you think the song should be, make it faster’. A guest lecturer said that to me when I was at university and I use it for every single song now. It’s one of those very random things that has stuck with me, and always works!



 

Check out Bryony's new single More Than Friends in the link down below!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page