top of page
  • Writer's pictureKeiko

'A Conversation With...Jensyn'

Jensyn is an exciting independent queer artist currently based in Liverpool, UK. In this conversation, I asked Jenysn about her recent single 'Rooftop', a song that explores escapism from the stress of modern life. We also discuss the meaning and recording process behind the track and Jensyn shares their advice to anyone thinking about releasing their own music.

Hi Jensyn, tell us a bit about yourself!

Hello! I’m Jensyn, and I’m an independent queer artist, originally from the West Midlands and currently based in Liverpool as I am in my final year at Liverpool University studying music.


How would you describe your music?

I would say it’s ambient, indie-electronic pop, but with each project I think there is the occasional glimpse or element of other genres too!


When did you start releasing music, have you always had an interest in pursuing a career in music?

Under ‘Jensyn’, my first release was in October 2019, but since my early teens I was creating covers and attempting to write and produce my own stuff which I uploaded on SoundCloud – if you did a deep dive you would find some very cringe-worthy tracks! But yeah, since that age I think I always knew that music was something I wanted to do.

Who have been your biggest musical influences, and do they directly influence your sound?

My mum is a big soft rock fan and she introduced me to bands like CSNY, The Eagles and artists like Joni Mitchell which I definitely think influenced my love of thick harmonies and interesting chord progressions. One of my favourite bands now is Half Moon Run and I believe they were influenced by similar artists, so I’ve always loved that sound. I always think of Joni’s album Hejira with Jaco Pastorius on the bass; it’s my first instrument and I love creating melodic basslines. And then I think the more ambient, electronic side to my music came from hearing artists like Disclosure, Bon Iver and HONNE but also modern soundscape-y film composers like Ólafur Arnalds and Hildur Guðnadóttir. I would just hear something I liked in one of their songs and try and recreate it, and some of those elements definitely made their way into my music.

You recently released your brand new single ‘Rooftop’ that discusses themes of escapism with mellow guitar melodies, could you tell us a bit about the inspiration behind the track?

I wrote the track during the summer of last year. Things with covid had eased a bit and so seeing friends and family again (socially distanced) seemed especially special. And for me, and I think for others too, this whole situation has made us all think about how we spend our time and who we spend it with. So, the track alternates between the verses which explore the feeling of isolation and the need for human connection, and the choruses which reflect on a happy, pre-covid memory. It’s the things I’m nostalgic about in the choruses that I think we all hope can happen again soon!


Why did you name the track 'Rooftop'?

The idea came from a specific moment of this reconnection where me and some friends stayed up all night on this rooftop and watched both the sunset and sunrise – it was so lovely!


How did you find the recording process, did you face any challenges when recording 'Rooftop'?

'Rooftop' is the first time I’ve really recorded a big main guitar riff, so having the idea for that and then trying to create it took a while to get right and as I had it in my head. I also wanted the bridge to be really big and exciting so that also took a while to work out how to create that energy. But it was a really fun song to produce!

"...the track alternates between the verses which explore the feeling of isolation and the need for human connection, and the choruses which reflect on a happy, pre-covid memory."

Will 'Rooftop' feature as part of a larger project (eg EP or album?)

To be honest, I’m not totally sure at the moment. I am planning to release several singles in the coming months and so maybe when they are all out I will put them together as an EP, perhaps with a bonus new track!


Do you plan to release any visuals for the song?

Not yet, but definitely for future songs - creating a video is something I would love to do. I’m also trying to pursue film composition, so I always think music and film/video really complement each other.


How has the pandemic affected your creative process?

I feel like most of my songs that I have written since the start of the pandemic have somehow linked to it. It has affected everyone in so many different aspects of life, so for me it’s been hard to not be influenced by it in some way, especially when making music has always been an outlet for me.

What do you most look forward to doing once restrictions are fully lifted?

Just being able to spend time with friends and family and I also really miss live gigs – I have a list of artists I am going to see as soon as I safely can!


What do you hope your listeners take away from your music?

I hope that it’s a new and original sound that they want to keep listening to!


Are there any artists/musicians you could recommend to our readers?

I have to recommend my uni mates who also create their own incredible music: Lazygirl, The Moss Farm, Fraser West and Audrey Tunes. They all create really different styles of music but it’s some of my favourite music and I really think others will love it too!


What advice would you give to someone who may want to start releasing music?

I would say not to dwell on small details. I think most musicians or artists are perfectionists and I find myself doing it all the time too so I’m being quite hypocritical. Spending hours on one tiny detail which only you will probably notice can really halt your creativity though, and when you are starting out, you just need to make music and get it out there for people to hear!


What is the best advice you have ever received?

The one that comes to mind is to not compare yourself to others. Again, I still find myself doing this, but everyone is at different stages and has got to where they are different ways. So, I think if you are kind to yourself and focus on where you want to be, rather than the fact that someone else has got there sooner, then it makes the whole experience of reaching that place easier and more enjoyable.

 

Check out Jensyn's recent single 'Rooftop' on my Spotify featured artists playlist!

And if you liked 'Rooftop' then you may like 'Untouchable' by Jensyn


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page