top of page
  • Writer's pictureKeiko

'A Conversation With...Millie Milner'

Millie Milner (they/them) is an independent queer musician based in West Yorkshire. I have had the pleasure of following Milner's work throughout lockdown and the musician's latest single 'It'll Be Alright' showcases their honest lyricism and talent for revising their work. In this conversation, I caught up with Millie to discuss the release of their single 'It'll Be Alright' (previously released under the name 'Troubled Mind') and their plans for the rest of 2021.

Hi Millie, how have you been since we last spoke?

I've been great, busy but great!


You are back with a re-release called ‘It’ll Be Alright’, a song that was previously released under the name ‘Troubled Mind’. What made you decide to rerelease this song under a different name?

I felt like to go along with all the changes in the track that it deserved a fresh start.


You have described the song as ‘Telling the story of an open and honest love and the worry you feel as you try to hold up a person who is falling to pieces’, could you tell us a bit about the writing process behind ‘It’ll Be Alright’ and the alterations you made structurally to the song?

The song itself was originally written about my partner as I watched her struggle during the pandemic and tried with all my might to help. The structural changes were made during the studio time, they weren't pre-planned it was just what everyone involved agreed felt right. The new section was added on a whim, I was having a play around a few days before I went to the studio and started to improvise a new section. I liked it so much that it stuck!

‘Troubled Mind’ was the first ‘Millie Milner’ song I heard, and I love the changes you made to the song, would you say that personally this song is your most sentimental record?

All of my tracks are very sentimental. The difference with 'It'll Be Alright' is that I was able to play around with all the different meanings of the song. Each aspect of the artwork, the track itself and the video have subtle nods to the stories and the people the song is now linked to in my life.


What do you hope your listeners take away from ‘It’ll Be Alright’ and your music in general?

That it will be alright! I hope people find comfort and hope, along with the beauty in the side of love that people overlook the most. The support aspect of love.


Would you say that revisiting your music has been a therapeutic and rewarding experience?

It has definitely been a new experience, its been really nice to revisit that specific track as it now has a multitude of meanings to me. I felt it deserved more and meant more than I ever gave it the first time round. It was special to be able to share the whole experience with the people involved which was so different to the first time round where I recorded and released it alone.

"Each aspect of the artwork, the track itself and the video have subtle nods to the stories and the people the song is now linked to in my life."

What changes would you like to see within the music industry, in terms of supporting independent and queer musicians?

Independent musicians are so overlooked. Every aspect of the track was either done or heavily overseen by me. I had an input in every bit, I adore it but it is a huge amount of work. It is entirely overlooked. And as always queer people in every walk of life deserve support, acceptance and love.


Will ‘It’ll Be Alright’ feature as part of a larger project?

I cannot deny or confirm 😉 in all honesty it is in the plan but when that plan comes into action is a whole other question!


What are your plans for the rest of 2021?

Start songwriting at uni, gig more, write more and hopefully release more.


If you could travel back in time and give your past-self one piece of advice, what would it be?

Never dilute yourself for anyone, especially an audience. Be unapologetically you.


What is your favourite lyric/word of advice?

Oh gosh! It's hard to chose. "How I am seen by society is based on the people that love and like me"

 

Check out Millie Milner's latest release 'It'll Be Alright' in the link above or hear the song on my Spotify Featured Artists Playlist (link in bio).

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page