top of page
  • Writer's pictureKeiko

'I wonder' by Da-iCE

'I wonder' is the latest single from Japanese dance-vocal group, Da-iCE. The single is featured as the theme song for TBS drama 'くるり〜誰が私と恋をした?〜, Kururi ~Who fell in love with me?~' and has a new music video and performance video which features choreography by vocalist Sota Hanamura who also co-wrote and composed the song.

'I wonder' is a light and joyful song that is complemented by expressive choreography that captures the theme and tone of the TBS drama. This song reminded me of Da-iCE's earlier work (eg. Bubble Love and Damn it!), introducing new listeners to the group's discography and their decision to experiment with vocal production whilst becoming more involved in composing and directing the visuals for their singles. Despite their recent songs being shorter in length, I think that 'I wonder' will attract new listeners to the group following the huge success of their hit singles like 'Citrus' and 'Starmine'. All of their recent releases differ both sonically and visually, with their new single leaning towards a more vintage feel and style compared to the bright colourful neon palate of 'A2Z'.

I have been reviewing Da-iCE's music since 2019, and I personally think that their range and strength as live performers sets them apart from other groups, making them one of the most exciting and intriguing acts in J-pop. 'I wonder' hints at the group's desire to continue attracting new listeners to their music using different mediums as they enter the next phase of their decade-long career. Check out 'I wonder' in the link above and hear the single in full on my Spotify Reviews Playlist (link in bio).

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2024 by Keiko. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page